County of Suffolk Incorporated in 1643

During the colonial period there was no officer bearing the title of Sheriff until 1688. The office of Sheriff later became an elected position in the year 1855.

The following persons have served as Sheriff of Suffolk County under the Province Charter and/or under the Constitution:

Steven W. Tompkins 2013- present First appointed by Governor Patrick
Andrea J. Cabral 2002-2013 First appointed by Governor Swift
Richard J. Rouse 1996-2002
Robert C. Rufo 1987-1996
Dennis J. Kearney 1977-1987
Thomas S. Eisenstadt 1969-1977
John W. Sears 1968-1969
Frederick R. Sullivan 1944-1968
John F. Dowd 1938-1944
John A. Keliher 1920-1938
John Quinn, Jr. 1915-1920
Fred H. Seavey 1909-1915
John B. Moran 1905-1909
John B. O’Brien 1883-1905
John M. Clark 1855-1883
Joseph Eveleth 1853-1855
Henry Crocker 1852-1853
Joseph Eveleth 1839-1852
Charles Pickney Sumner 1825-1839
Joseph Hall 1818-1825
Samuel Bradford 1809-1818
Jeremiah Allen 1791-1809
Joseph Henderson 1780-1791
William Greenleaf 1775-1780
Stephen Greenleaf 1757-1775
Benjamin Pollard 1743-1757
Edward Winslow 1728-1743
William Payne 1715-1728
William Dudley 1714-1715
William Payne 1714-1714
William Dudley 1713-1714
Giles Dyer 1702-1713
Samuel Gookin 1692-1702